EPC rules for landlords
In England the legal minimum energy efficiency standard for a privately rented home is EPC band E. A landlord must not let a home rated F or G unless a valid exemption is registered. Band C by 2030 is a government plan, not law, as checked on 23 October 2026.
Checked on 23 Oct 2026 against the minimum standard, the letting restriction and the policy response.
In force and planned
SEPARATE RULESA separate marketing duty requires commissioning before marketing, with 7 days and a conditional further 21 days to obtain the EPC. Its dwelling penalty is £200.
Worked example: an English home has remained let since 1 April 2020. Its band F EPC was registered no more than 10 years before it is relied on, with no later replacement EPC. That passes the 10-year age test, but F still prevents letting without an exemption. If relevant improvements up to £3,500 including VAT leave it below E, register the improvements exemption. Letting without an exemption for 3 months or more carries up to £4,000 and/or publication, within the £5,000 MEES financial cap.
What EPC band must a rented home meet?
Band E is the minimum energy efficiency standard (MEES). Below E, an applicable exemption is required. The guidance covers assured, regulated and domestic agricultural tenancies legally requiring an EPC. These regulations cover England and Wales; this guide addresses England.
Does the rule apply to an existing tenancy?
Yes. Since 1 April 2020, the restriction includes continuing lets. If a home is empty and you do not plan to let it, rating improvements can wait until you decide to let again.
When must the landlord commission and give the EPC?
Without a valid EPC, commission one before marketing. Use all reasonable efforts to obtain it within 7 days from the first marketing day. If reasonable efforts fail, obtain it within the 21 days immediately afterwards.
Make the EPC available free at the earliest opportunity. For someone requesting information, the latest point is your first written information about the home. Give the eventual tenant a valid copy free. Advert wording requirements are not stated here.
How long is an EPC valid?
For marketing, registration must be no more than 10 years before the EPC is made available. For MEES, the limit is 10 years before reliance, with no later replacement EPC. A new tenancy does not itself require renewal.
What is the penalty for the marketing duty?
The dwelling penalty is £200. Trading standards enforces these EPC duties. This charge is separate from MEES penalties.
What are the MEES penalties?
The local authority enforces domestic MEES.
| Breach | Maximum penalty |
|---|---|
| Non-compliant letting under 3 months | £2,000 and/or publication |
| Non-compliant letting for 3 months or more | £4,000 and/or publication |
| False or misleading exemption information | £1,000 and/or publication |
| Failure to comply with a compliance notice | £2,000 and/or publication |
Financial penalties together cannot exceed £5,000 per property. Ask the council for a review; an upheld penalty can be appealed to the First-tier Tribunal. The compliance notice procedure is not set out here. PRS Database penalties concern different duties.
What exemptions can be registered?
Letting can start immediately after registering a valid exemption; the council can request further information. The register allows public searches for exemptions and penalties.
- All relevant improvements made.
Still below E after improvements up to the cap, or no improvements available: 5 years from registration.
- High cost.
3 qualified installer quotes must show even the cheapest recommended measure exceeds £3,500 including VAT. Duration: 5 years.
- Wall insulation.
Written expert advice must establish harm to the fabric or structure. Duration: 5 years.
- Third-party consent.
Consent exemption; duration not stated here.
- Property devaluation.
The available exemptions include property devaluation.
- Recently became landlord: temporary exemption for 6 months from becoming landlord.
Are listed buildings exempt?
Protection alone does not establish exemption. The exclusion covers officially protected buildings only insofar as minimum energy performance requirements would unacceptably alter their character or appearance. It includes protection through a designated environment or special architectural or historical merit.
Is EPC band C by 2030 the law?
No. The consultation ran from 7 February 2025 to 2 May 2025. The response dated 21 January 2026 sets out the planned figures above. The implementing legislation was not found at this page's check date.
The DESNZ guidance updated 5 May 2026 still states band E and describes policy design as under exploration. E remains applicable until the higher standard applies. Separately, 4 new domestic EPC headline metrics are planned, subject to parliamentary approvals. A numerical C equivalent under those metrics is not stated here.
Are grant amounts stated on this page?
No grant amounts are given here. Check the current DESNZ funding guidance.
General information, not legal advice. Laws and dates change. Check the official guidance before you act.
PRS Guide is an independent guide, not a government service.